Pirates of Penzance.

I went to see Pirates of Penzance at Vancouver Opera last night. It was my father who first introduced me to Gilbert and Sullivan. Not to mention Charlie Chaplin, the Marx Brothers, Buster Keaton, and Harold Lloyd. He loved that stuff.

I remember going to see the movie of Pirates of Penzance with Kevin Kline, Rex Smith, and Linda Ronstadt. I remember the adults around me at the time always had this conversation about the fact that it was Linda Ronstadt and that “she could actually sing.”

Kevin Kline as the Pirate King was such a favourite. I found a video of the Central Park production that the movie was based on. Purist may not agree with me but there is much that I love in this production. And Kevin Kline is so quick and funny.

Published by

Amiel

writer / director

One thought on “Pirates of Penzance.”

  1. The Pirates of Penzance was one of the first beta movies we watched.. when we lived in Mission.. I still can remember the older boys singing “I am the Pirate King”. This was 1982 or so…

Leave a Reply

